Jon Baleva Jan 25, 2024
Entrance Tips

ITIL Certifications: Overview and Career Paths

Did you know that there are several ITIL certifications? ITIL Certification is one of the most prominent certifications in the IT industry. The ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) certification is a highly valued qualification on the resume of an ITSM professional. In addition, there are several certifications of ITIL that you can pursue according to your level of expertise. 

ITIL certifications can help a candidate build industry-relevant skills and competencies. Whether you are an IT professional, IT service manager, IT Directors and Managers, Business Manager or service support engineer, an ITIL certification will always give you more insights. 

 ITIL-certified candidates have better future job prospects. Therefore, ITIL experts in incident management, service management, change management have high demand in the job sector. This blog will read about the various ITIL certifications and the career path that certified ITIL professionals can follow. 

Levels of ITIL Certifications

The ITIL Certifications are classified based on the competency level of employees. The below mentioned are the certifications that can be pursued according to the competency of an individual:

  • ITIL Foundation
  • ITIL Practitioner Certification
  • ITIL Intermediate Certification
  • ITIL Expert
  • ITIL Master

1. ITIL Foundation

ITIL Foundation is the basic certification offered by ITIL. The ITIL foundation certification can be pursued by IT service managers, directors, managers, and anyone interested in the subject. The ITIL Foundation course is meant for IT practitioners who need basic knowledge. This certification course contains the basics of IT Service Management. Some of the topics covered in ITIL Foundation include: 

  • IT Service Management as a practice 
  • ITIL Service Cycle 
  • Technology and architecture 
  • Competence and training 

2. ITIL Practitioner Certification

ITIL Practitioner certification can be achieved by candidates who completed ITIL Foundation certification. This certification emphasizes adapting and applying ITIL concepts in an organisation. The ITIL Practitioner certification offers practical guidance on adapting the ITIL framework for business' objectives. ITIL Practitioner certification covers three key areas:

  • Organizational Change Management
  • Communication
  • Measurement and Metrics

3. ITIL Intermediate Certification

The ITIL Intermediate certification has modules that focus on IT Service Management. The Intermediate modules are more detailed than the Foundation certification. This certification is industry-recognized certification. ITIL Intermediate certificate provides two streams:

  • Service Lifecycle 
  • Service Capability

4. ITIL Expert

The ITIL, Expert level certification, is designed for candidates interested in demonstrating an advanced level of knowledge in ITIL. An ITIL Expert certification offers candidates better job opportunities and career growth. Candidates with this certification can further undertake the ITIL Master certification, which is the highest qualification in the ITIL field. The courses focus on the practical application of these four modules that support

  • IT operations
  • Application management 
  • Financial management

5. ITIL Master

As you have read above, ITIL master certification is the highest level of certification. The ITIL Master certification is proof of your knowledge of the principles, methods and techniques of ITIL. To achieve your ITIL Master certificate, you must have practical hands-on experience with ITIL.

The ITIL Master certification encompasses the ability of the candidate to apply the ITIL framework in real-world situations. To achieve ITIL Master certification, one must achieve ITIL expert certification. The eligibility requirement for this certification includes work experience in IT service management for at least five years in leadership, managerial, or higher management advisory levels.

Career Paths with ITIL Certifications

As you have already read, the different certifications according to the competency of an individual. You already know the  benefits of ITIL certifications and here are the major career pathways that candidates can select after achieving ITIL certification

  • Information Technology Project Manager
  • Information Technology Manager
  • Service Delivery Manager
  • Senior Project Manager
  • Information Technology Director
  • Database administrators
  • Engineering program manager
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operations

There are several more job roles available for ITIL-certified candidates. This certification will be a significant boost to your career graph. ITIL certification will bring tangible benefits across a wide variety of sectors. The use of ITIL is everywhere. ITIL is used globally and implemented in just every industry. If you wish to upscale your job role, getting ITIL certified is your choice! 


Jon Baleva is an IT professional with 20 years of experience in programming and networking. He is an expert in Python & IT Security domains as well as in Operating Systems (OS). He has trained professionals and students in IT Programming courses, Microsoft Azure, Linux   & MAC OS. He is also a writer who writes on tech-related topics for various tech magazines in Philippine. He is now an IT Trainer with Edoxi Training Institute, Dubai.